New Door! (and other updates…)

In the land of rainy 880 East, there’s been a flurry of activity.

I finally had the new front door installed! After cleaning and treating the cedar shake shingles and painting our outside trim at the end of the summer (another one off the to-do for now), the front door was looking sadder and sadder. When the house went from looking like this:

P1080455

To this:

2014-09-03 15.33.22

and this:

2014-09-04 12.50.58

and the door went from this:

2013-11-22 20.16.00

To this with a fancy new door knob and house numbers, before the painters tape is peeled off the glass:

2014-12-03 15.56.20

And here she is at night all lit up:

P1080521

The outside of the door is that light blue, and the inside is a super inky black/blue color that was leftover paint from the bathroom project. I’ll take a photo of it during the day for a better look at the color in the light, but overall, I’m digging the effect.

The door looks great, even better than I could have hoped. Thanks a bunch to my buddy Ryan for installing it and my good ol’ Dad for painting the door not once, but twice, when I decided that I wanted the inside to be a different color.

The lock-set is a Schalge Century with Latitude lever that I bought at Home Depot after drooling over it (and the black version, which I’ve only seen on Amazon) for over a year. I think it was a great choice and am excited that the door is installed. It’s just another box checked off the ever-expanding to-do list.

In other news, the baseboard heaters are gone! Well… in every room but the bathroom, but that heater doesn’t get used much so it didn’t make sense to pay for a new heater to be installed when I already don’t use the one that’s in there. My trusty electrician Jeremy came back and removed all the baseboards, installed shiny, pretty Cadets with thermostats, and finished in time to watch the Ducks destroy some football team from somewhere else.

Here is a picture of what it looks like in the living room:

P1080525

You’ll have to pardon the mess and the curtains. I’m are in the process of patching the wall where the baseboard was and doing some furniture arranging. A new rug is arriving Friday so I’ll probably be switching the decor up a bit. I want to change the curtains out for some natural wood roman shades, and Paul agrees. The curtains aren’t aesthetically what we hoped for and I don’t really like having to worry about them in front of the heater. We also have some more of (my) furniture to sell on Craigslist. I have an extra captains chair for the dining room and I’m going to call it quits on my favorite (but rarely used or seen as anything but a crap pile holder) maroon spaghetti chair. Hoping it finds a new home…

Once things are rearranged and painted and not dark out, I’ll post some new stuff.

Life has been crazy, let’s just hope it doesn’t snow, since that would really throw us for a loop.

XO.

Leave a Reply

